Personal Memories

I miss the good old days of physical albums or a box of photographs. To be cleaning and then to find these treasures of memories. Now a days everything is so instant. Most albums are on line, but how many of us take time to look a back, and reflect about the people in our lives and memories that our part of us?

Having moved from my parents house in Canada to beautiful Scotland, I find pictures to have a bit more value. Seeing myself as a child is sometimes amusing, because I have changed so much. Missing my family and friends is normal, so it is nice to have the memories to keep me going. Here are four of my personal memories.

When I was 8 and my sister was 3, my parents wanted to give us the trip of a life time. We went to Disneyland and on they way back to Canada they wanted to show us the Grand Canyon. The thing is in August it is the rainy season in the Grand Canyon area. My initial reaction to the Grand Canyon was one of disappointment because the clouds had settled in the canyon making it look like a cloudy field. My  really wanted us to experience the beauty of the canyon so they drove back the next day. This is the picture they took on the second day. I still look unimpressed.

When I was 8 and my sister was 3, my parents wanted to give us the trip of a life time. We went to Disneyland and on they way back to Canada they wanted to show us the Grand Canyon. The thing is in August it is the rainy season in the Grand Canyon area. My initial reaction to the Grand Canyon was one of disappointment because the clouds had settled in the canyon making it look like a cloudy field. My parents really wanted us to experience the beauty of the canyon so they drove back the next day. This is the picture they took on the second day. I still look unimpressed.

Graduating High School was a big deal. Entering the unknown adult world. This picture brings back so many good memories of just being young and silly.  I have kept in touch will all but 3 people in this picture. It is amazing how our friendship has lasted over the years.

Graduating High School was a big deal. Entering the unknown adult world. This picture brings back so many good memories of just being young and silly. I have kept in touch will all but 3 people in this picture, and not because we have fallen out, just because we have lost touch. It is amazing how our friendship has lasted over the years. I still think I look like a tomato in this pic with my bright red face with cap and gown. I am in the top row 3rd from the right.

I have lost count to how many comedians I have met over the years.  When doing stand up you tend to meet many, and forget many. This is one encounter I will never forget. On a really snowy November night Billy Connolly came to Edmonton to do a show. It was amazing to see 3hrs of comedy with no breaks.  After the show I was able to meet the man himself, and he is one of the kindest people I have ever met. The next day I went to work very excited to share the experience that I had only to have the response by most of my coworkers

I have lost count to how many comedians I have met over the years. When doing stand up you tend to meet many, and forget many. This is one encounter I will never forget. On a really snowy November night Billy Connolly came to Edmonton to do a show. It was amazing to see 3hrs of comedy with no breaks. After the show I was able to meet the man himself.  Billy is one of the kindest people I have ever met. The next day I went to work very excited to share the experience.  Sadly the response by most of my coworkers was “Who is that?” In Scotland I don’t have that problem.

Now that I live away from Canada I don't tend to see my family that much. Last year I was able to meet my sister in Barcelona. We had a marvelous time. Even though time has past we are the same, and can pick up right were we left off.  I am very luck to have a sister who I can call my best friend.

Now that I live away from Canada I don’t tend to see my family that much. Last year I was able to meet my sister in Barcelona. We had a marvelous time. Even though time has past we are the same, and can pick up right were we left off. I am very luck to have a sister who I can call my best friend.  The weather was really hot and I felt like I was melting. Four days was the perfect amount of time for me to enjoy the surroundings.  My sister on the other hand stayed longer as she can handle the heat. On day two of our trip I got sunscreen in my eye and was crying for the entire day. This of course made my sister laugh for most of the day. 

2 thoughts on “Personal Memories

    • Thank you for sharing. Your story reminds me of a Christmas I once had at my Aunt Kate and Uncle George’s house, where they brought out the old projector and showed many family photo’s that I had never seen before. It was interesting to see what my father looked like as a boy.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

