Portraits on Location

I really do love my job. Taking portraits of a person is a bit of a challenge but can be super fun. A lot of the time my client and I will end up laughing a lot, and in the end I have to say “Stop laughing you are ruining the picture.”  Some of the faces they pull to try and be more serious starts the whole laughter cycle over again.

As I don’t have a studio, sometimes I need to battle the elements outside, or relocate a shoot. This is Scotland after all and rain is to be expected. A lot of the time I will meet a client at their home. I am really learning the bus system in this city.

The best lighting will always come from the sun, which gives a warm natural look. On cloudy days an extra light is needed. In doors is when lighting tends to be more of a challenge, and a lot more thought has to go into the shoot.

I am not a fan of Photoshop editing to the point where a person is completely lost. On occasion I might use Photoshop to enhance something, or get rid of a zit that I know is not a permanent feature of a person, but I feel the more natural the better.

Here are some portraits that I have taken.

Jennifer was a 3 year old with a lot of energy.

Jennifer was a 3 year old with a lot of energy.

Jan from Southern Flow wanted a friendly relaxed picture for her business profile.

Jan from Southern Flow wanted a friendly relaxed picture for her business profile.

Rachel nominated her mother in a competition called Project Individual Worth held by Crossing Parallels.  She explained why her mother was beautiful to her.

Rachel nominated her mother in a competition called Project Individual Worth held by Crossing Parallels. She explained why her mother was beautiful to her.

Manuela wanted some sexy pictures for her husbands birthday.

Manuela wanted some sexy pictures for her husbands birthday.

Katie and her husband run Paint Edinburgh.  Katie designs pillows and curtains. I took this picture when her husband was talking to her.

Katie and her husband run Paint Edinburgh. Katie designs pillows and curtains. I took this picture when her husband was talking to her.

Bronwen is an author and this picture just happened to have good timing.

Bronwen Winter Phoenix is an author and this picture just happened to have good timing.

I really like this picture because it is not forced. Tilly has such beautiful eyes, and the lighting makes this picture interesting.

I really like this picture because it is not forced. Tilly has such beautiful eyes, and the lighting makes this picture interesting.

Took this picture of Ray when he was relaxed and reading the paper.

Took this picture of Ray when he was relaxed and reading the paper.

Ray needed a promotional shot for his comedy show Brunch-time Banter.

Ray needed a promotional shot for his comedy show Brunch-time Banter.

Leave a Reply

