Comedian Life

Getting into photography happened because I was on the Scottish Comedy Circuit as a part time comedian, and was unable to get a full time job. Photography quickly became the answer, as I started to take pictures of my other fellow comedians for a small price. Of course this expanded into other areas of photography. Two years on with my business and I just get by.

I love comedy, but know that being a comedian is like having another full time job. There is a thrill in performing. It can be pure magic. Other nights a death on stage is a humbling lesson. There is more than just being on stage,  it is all the prep before hand that makes it a challenge. Writing, booking gigs, travel, practice, timing, being on time and rewriting. When you are starting out can cost a lot to travel around doing 5 mins to 10 mins on stage with no pay.  Eventually through hard work and a solid routine you might get paid.  As much at I love all that I find photography is what pays the bills for me and eats up a lot of my time.

Here are some photo’s of comedians that I have met on my path. Really just a few….. there are way too many comedians to post and if I tried to post all my pics I would be here until the next millennium.

Bec Hill making a guest appearance at Pandamonium Comedy during the Fringe 2013.

Bec Hill making a guest appearance at Pandamonium Comedy during the Fringe 2013.

Glasgow Comedian who I think is on the rise.

Craig Johnstone is Glasgow Comedian who I think is on the rise.

Daphna is one of the hardest working comedians in the UK. Look out for her show Nothing to Declare at the Edinburgh Fringe 2015.

Daphna is one of the hardest working comedians in the UK. Look out for her show Nothing to Declare at the Edinburgh Fringe 2015.

David Callan is making his rounds on the comedy circuit.

David is making his rounds on the comedy circuit.

Ross Hepburn is gaining a excellent following up here in Scotland with his solo show  ROSS HEPBURN IS BEETLEJUICE'D

Ross Hepburn is gaining a excellent following up here in Scotland with his solo show ROSS HEPBURN IS BEETLEJUICE’D

Not only does Ed do Stand up he plays the Trombone .

Not only does Ed Whitley do Stand up, he also plays the Trombone.

John Hastings is Canadian, and good at working a room.

John Hastings is Canadian, and good at working a room.

Joy Hunter- Maybe she will comedy rap for you?

Joy Hunter- Maybe she will comedy rap for you?

Juliette Burton makes Docucomedies. Her shows are very honest and uplifting.

Juliette Burton makes Docucomedies. Her shows are very honest and uplifting.

Mae Martin is Canadian, but tends to hang out in the UK.

Mae Martin is Canadian, but tends to hang out in the UK.

Patrick Mulholand is one of my Favorite Scottish comedians. He always makes me laugh.

Patrick Mulholand is one of my Favorite Scottish comedians. He always makes me laugh.

Sarah Short is another funny lady hidden on the club scene.

Sarah Short is another funny lady hidden on the club scene.

Leave a Reply

